Difference between revisions of "Talk:Black ship"

From YPPedia
(Screenshots exist!)
Line 5: Line 5:
 
*Zyborg
 
*Zyborg
 
}}
 
}}
 +
 +
 +
== Screenshots ==
 +
A recent [http://blog.puzzlepirates.com/2007/01/picture_this.html YPP blog entry] has a screenshot of the deck of the black ship. Might help settle some of the speculation on whether it's furnished! --[[User:Pauling|Pauling]] 08:13, 19 January 2007 (PST)
 +
 
== 150 skellies now? ==
 
== 150 skellies now? ==
 
It appears the Black Ship is now piloted not by 100 skellies but by 150 of them. See [http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n171/Ebudae_YPP/150.png this screenie]. [[User:Ebudae|Ebudae]] 16:53, 19 November 2006 (PST)
 
It appears the Black Ship is now piloted not by 100 skellies but by 150 of them. See [http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n171/Ebudae_YPP/150.png this screenie]. [[User:Ebudae|Ebudae]] 16:53, 19 November 2006 (PST)

Revision as of 16:13, 19 January 2007

Wikicities Migration
This page migrated from Wikicities (now Wikia) in July, 2005. The following contributors agreed to relicense their material here:
  • Barrister
  • Callistan
  • CursedBurger
  • Zyborg


Screenshots

A recent YPP blog entry has a screenshot of the deck of the black ship. Might help settle some of the speculation on whether it's furnished! --Pauling 08:13, 19 January 2007 (PST)

150 skellies now?

It appears the Black Ship is now piloted not by 100 skellies but by 150 of them. See this screenie. Ebudae 16:53, 19 November 2006 (PST)

OM control

Sage parley has a thread suggesting that the Black ship can be controlled by an OM for blockadey goodness. It looks to be confirmed (there are amusing screenshots floating around); is this something that should be added as an intriguing footnote?

-Pauling

Actually, this is true. There was an event blockade on Cobalt where a black ship entered the board. One of Avernus' events, I believe. --Barrister 00:50, 4 September 2006 (PDT)
OMs can also board the black ships to fight you (as per this link.) Should this be added too? --Whitemonkey 06:17, 1 November 2006 (PST)
Probably not. To do their job, they need to be able to go anywhere on demand. For a bit of fun, they can whisk to such places. They could probably nav brigand ships too, but it's probably best to not include it, so people don't ask to be able to do it themselves. I could be wrong though. --Piplicus 07:16, 1 November 2006 (PST)
I believe Piplicus has the right idea. We don't tend to put in too much info about OM powers so that greenies don't sit around petitioning asking for those powers or whatnot. It's just not relevant to normal gameplay. If you want, I can put in a request to Eurydice to have her officially answer the question. --Guppymomma 07:37, 1 November 2006 (PST)

immunity to cannonballs

Any confirmation at all on "While it appears to be immune to cannonballs (they go right through it) this is only an illusion. However, it would take about 200 large cannonballs to max it, and it can't be grappled ?." That looks quite made up, and isn't consistent with what we've been told. -Talisker

Previous edit reverted (I didn't see it before). MaikaiNoFalco, if you think it was actually correct, you need to provide evidence to back it up. Any screenshots should be recent, as I'm pretty sure it was changed a bit after the thread Shur posted a long while ago. --Thunderbird 17:52, 10 January 2006 (PST)

Does the Black Ship still take everything in hold when winning?

I have noticed from last time I met the Pollo Diablo that they dont necesarily take everything in the hold. At least it didnt happen, they took, if I remember correctly, only about 7k poe from a booty of around 38k and a fair amount of supplies but didn't even left us in jeopardy to get back to port. Just wanted to post this to see if someone else can back it and maybe change the article. --Ceci1980 29 May 2006, 5:18 pm PST

The black ship always leaves 5 rum. --Thunderbird 17:31, 28 May 2006 (PDT)
Unless you had less than 5 rum before attacking - in which case it takes none. --Sagacious (talk) 17:33, 28 May 2006 (PDT)
Again, and i'm pretty sure about this, because we didn't ran out of rum and we were far away from port, the Black Ship didn't take all the rum in hold and left us with a fair amount and by this I mean much more than 5 units (most of us on ship where officers so we would have ran out of rum quickly if we had been left with 5). I must say the sloop was well stocked but anyhow, it strucked me very odd, that's why I posted here. Can't think the Black Ship was being "nice", maybe just leaving comment here and see if anyone else has same experience. Thanks for feedback. --Ceci1980 17:59, 28 May 2006 (PDT)
If you are so sure that the blackship left more than the longstanding 5 rum rule, then feel free to post on the forums to see if others have experienced the same. Probably fits under the game design section. --Sagacious (talk) 18:08, 28 May 2006 (PDT)
Will do, Thanks! Ceci1980 18:13, 28 May 2006 (PDT)


Today I met El Pollo Diablo. It only took 1.5k and a handful of rum and shot. So... why not edit the page? --thefirstdude 12:06, 27 October 2006 (PDT)

We need a screenshot to confirm this, it is the best way to prove it doesn't take everything in the hold, at least not everytime. Guess that would be the only way we could edit the page. --Cecidrake 09:22, 1 November 2006 (PST)

Disambig

There is apparently a Shipyard on Viridian named El Pollo Diablo. I was going to check it's write up yet was redirected to this page. Can we fix the auto-redirect, or make a tag for a separate page for the Viridian Shipyard? --Chemicalgirl 15:12, 3 June 2006 (PDT)
Oops, it looks like we both went to work on this at the same time; should El Pollo Diablo be a disambiguation page, or just be the shoppe page, with a link to the actual ship, as I made it? --Emufarmers 15:31, 3 June 2006 (PDT)
I think i figured it out, maybe you'd already fixxed it when I found it... El Pollo Diablo ?
At right about the same time, you created El Pollo Diablo (Kirin Island), and I turned El Pollo Diablo from being a simple redirect into the shoppe page, with a link to the black ship. Should it instead be a disambiguation page, pointing to both El Pollo Diablo (Kirin Island) and black ship? (That's what I was originally going to do.) --Emufarmers 15:51, 3 June 2006 (PDT)
I've created a disambiguation page for El Pollo Diablo because there are now at least 3 different meanings. --Barrister 00:57, 4 June 2006 (PDT)

Switch from black to ghost

The switch from blackship to ghostship, according to this article, was before the war/blockade release.

Yet I recall people doing BS hunts and finding that they could still cannon the thing well after that. Is my memory wrong?

It became a ghost ship with Midnight's opening, though there were probably bugs in which you could hit the black ship under certain circumstances. --Thunderbird 11:03, 4 June 2006 (PDT)